NEMO Launch Activities to Commemorate the 32nd Anniversary of the Eruption of La Soufriere

Wednesday 13th April, 2011 marks thirty-two years since the La Soufriere Volcano erupted in 1979, displacing about 20,000 persons on mainland St. Vincent.  The National Emergency Management Organisation (NEMO) in collaboration with the Soufriere Monitoring Unit and the Seismic Research Centre, UWI St. Augustine Campus will launch a number of activities this week in an effort to heighten the awareness of the general public on volcanoes and other seismic hazards.

These activities include a national exhibition at South River Road on Friday 15th April, 2011. The exhibition commences at 9 am and will feature key exhibits from NEMO and other key agencies which have a role to play in informing the public on preparedness activities that can be undertaken to lessen the impact of hazards and measures to be taken after the impact.

NEMO will also collaborate with Tropical Shipping, Caribbean Central American Action (CCAA) and St. Vincent and the Grenadines Chamber of Industry and Commerce Inc in the Disaster Management Planning Workshops themed “Building a Culture of Preparedness - When Seconds Count”.  This workshop will take place on Tuesday, April 12, 2011 at the National Insurance Services Conference Room. The workshop will focus on a campaign awareness mode but with an emphasis on the tourism sector creating an opportunity to encourage greater synergy between the sectors.   A diverse group of decision makers from the public and private sectors will also attend the workshop.

On Saturday 16th April 2011, NEMO's staff, volunteers and members of other departments will visit the La Soufriere volcano under the guidance of Dr. Richard Robertson - Director of the Seismic Research Centre, St Augustine Campus, UWI.
On Sunday 17 April 2011, NEMO in a collaborative effort with  NBC Radio will focus on the topic " Preparing for Earthquakes, Volcanoes and Tsunamis" for the Views on Issues Programme. Other radio stations are expected to join the programme. The members of the panel will include:

  • Director(Ag), NEMO- Ms. Michelle Forbes
  • Dr. Richard Robertson -Director, Seismic Research Centre, University of the West Indies, St. Augustine
  • Mr. Brent Bailey - Chief Engineer, Ministry of Transport, Works, Urban Development and   Local Government
  • Mr. Anthony Bowman - Town Planner, Ministry of Housing Informal Human Settlements, Physical Planning, Lands and Surveys.
  • Two representatives from Tropical shipping will also join the programme via telephone.
Back To Top